Would you install this to save a finger?

woodworkingmax

This is a great video a friend send me about a stop for a table saw:

SawStop

If they sold a saw that folded down as well as my Bosch, and wasn't more than twice the cost, sure. Starting at $1600 is a non-starter most days, unless you're talking about a car.

The technology to do what they're doing isn't all that expensive, but they have the patent on it, and don't license it out cheaply... which kinda puts a choke-hold on the entire industry, and all of our fingers. :-/

As a hobbyist I have to say no to SawStop. For one it is to expensive for the hobbyist to purchase. Since this device relies on moisture it is subject to fail and cause unwanted trips of the device. Another expense that is hard on the hobbyist in that now, you have to buy a new cartridge and a new saw blade to boot. So there is no advantage other than safety for the hobbyist to purchase this technology. Mind you I'm all for safety, but not at the expense of having to replace parts that I can't afford when there are other things I'd rather purchase for the shop. There is another safety device being developed that in my opinion is better than SawStop using basically the same technology as SawStop but has less damaging effect without the costly replacement of a cartridge and blade. It has a simple reset button, so when tripped it can be reset and back to work in seconds. Its called the Whirlwind, Check it out and see if you think this is a better idea to save fingers.

http://www.whirlwindtool.com/

As a hobbyist I have to say no to SawStop. For one it is to expensive for the hobbyist to purchase. Since this device relies on moisture it is subject to fail and cause unwanted trips of the device.http://www.whirlwindtool.com/

Gregn,