Ideal Height for The Roubo Bench?

JimReed

I am new to the Guild but really looking forward to this build. I currently work mainly with powertools but my hope is that this new bench will inspire me to move into the world of more hand tools. I understand how critical the bench height can be for handtools and because I am only 5'6" I assume that my bench should probably be a bit shorter than the "average" person.

Is their a rule of thumb for bench height? And assuming I need to shorten the height of my bench, what is the best way to do so without making the build any more complex? Can I just lop a couple inches off the leg length and call it a day or will that result in some awkward proportions or other unintended consequences?

Thanks for your help!

Jim

Welcome Jim. Glad to hear you are jumping into the build! Concerning height, The Schwarz calls it the "rule of the pinky". He says the ideal height is the distance from the floor to where your pinky meets your hand. Obviously, your personal preferences may move the bench one way or another. Now if I were adjusting the height, the leave "eventful" way to do it is to trim from the bottom of the legs. There isn't anything happening between the cross stretchers and the floor and it is just empty space. Only thing that changes is the look. As the shelf gets closer to the floor, things might start looking funny. But for a small change, I think you are probably better off doing it that way for the least inconvenience.

If you need to make a dramatic change, then you probably want to take the top. You will then have to adjust the leg vise chop and the sliding deadman accordingly. All things considered that's not too big of a deal, but it is technically more to worry about.

According to Chris Schwarz, it's actually a rule of pinky - the top of your bench should come up to where your pinky meets your hand when you hang your arm straight down at your side.