My First Workbench

Neadom Tucker

Ok so I have been reading the forums and wanted to start a discussion on Workbenches for a garage. I am new to wood working. I really enjoy the work and love the finished product. My garage is a mess and I am working on cleaning it up to make my first shop. I have a few issues and this is why I am asking the question... What is the best workbench for a beginner wood worker.

My Setup:

Small Two Car Garage

The first 10 feet are "level"

The last 10-12 feet taper down for drainage

My thought is that the work bench would go on the level section. This makes the most since. But then I have a 10" X 25" space for my work bench and other tools. Which of all them are bench tools except for my floor drill press.

I am just getting started and I believe in buying a tool once but I know that i am not going to take this up as a profession. My project will range from:

Built-in Cabinets

Dining Room Table

Chairs

Smaller Projects

Thanks in advance for all of your suggestions. Also a good book to get me started would be great. I know Marc is working on the bench in the Guild but I wanted to ask the question if that is my best option.

Regards,

Neadom

Vic, Is the Roubo bench a project a beginning wood worker can build?

Neadom, can you tell us what tools you already have. Knowing what you have to work with will Be a major factor in what you should build to start with.

Also as far as your garage not being level. I have seen many benches with leveling feet on them. To Compensate for the very same problem you have.

I build a lot of cabinets and larger pieces myself. For stuff like that I really like to work on a larger work surface... Especially built in cabinets due to their height sometimes. My benches are 42"x72 and 48" x 96". For cabinets I would think the smallest you want to go with is 30" x 48" any smaller than that and there is no room for any tools while you work.