Taketh and no Giveth (so far)

stevo.kinevo

My name is Steve, and I'm a tree killer - I was raised in woodshops, and I'm a designer/craftsman that works in the medium of print & furniture, so I've basically made my passion and way of life dependent on chopping down trees.

I recall once as a kid in my Grandpa's shop in-between him trying to teach me about hand tools (of course I wanted to use the big machines), he was telling me about where the wood we were using came from, and the idea of replacing the trees we use so someday I'll be able to teach my grandkids the same thing in my shop. This has always been in the back of my head, and lately it's been more at the forefront of my thoughts.

My dilemma and why I'm asking here, is I moved away from home in the Midwest to Montana, where evergreens and hardwoods of little use for fine furniture grow easily, so all the walnut, birch, ash, and oak I turn into furniture will never be replaced by the douglas fir seedling I'm able to plant myself. I'd really like to make it my own personal policy to plant one or two trees for every piece I produce, but I'm not really doing my part if I use a walnut tree from the midwest and plant a fir tree in the west. I do produce a few lines that use fir, so I have that covered, but I'd like to find a resource online or otherwise that I would be able to purchase tree plantings of or closer to the hardwood variety used for each piece.

Does anyone know of any resources or organizations that does this? I was introduced to Trees for the Future by a shoe manufacturer client we have that plants a tree for every shoe sold, however you basically just donate into the mix and they plant whatever wherever, and that's at least a start. Ultimate goal I'd be able to specify a walnut and and ash tree planted in honor of a piece that I produced using the same...

Any suggestions or resources would be much appreciated!

Happy Trails,

-Steve