CA Glue Fracturing

Chris H

Hi Guys,

As you know, I am new to turning.

I have done maybe 15-20 pens so far, and had some really good experiences, and some really bad ones.

Recently, I have been getting my CA finish down to a procedure that works pretty well for me, but I keep ending up with one or more of the bushings being glued to the blank. I can free it simply by spinning the blank but its a gamble if the glue will fracture on the bushing or on the blank. So I end up with small chipping of the CA near the ends of the blanks.

Is there an easy way to avoid this and/or a quick way to repair it without sanding down and starting over?

You can see it near the middle band on the cap.

post-7224-0-13449400-1353969783_thumb.jp

ive noticed it with my pens as well, its either happening when i pull the pens off the mandrel or when i am pressing the kits together. only thing i can say is watch for both and see where its happening. if its on the mandrel you might need to wait longer to pull them off the lathe give them more time to cure. if its happening when pressing then it might be the pressing causing it, in that case you might need to sand the edges so the glue isnt overhanging. not sure how to repair it but might be helpful in the next series of pens.

I assumed it was simply my technique, so I stopped using this particular approach. Don't take this the wrong way, but I'm glad to know it's not just me...

Only thing I can suggest, and I haven't tried this yet myself, is to switch to a thin coat instead of a thick. Sure, it might take more coats, but it might also avoid this chipping issue. (plus, you can "break" the seal between the bushings and the blanks in between coats to prevent it from chipping worse.)

jHop, going thin vs thick won't solve the problem. I have tried many combo's of glues with the same result. When I first started, I only used thin CA and had the same issue.