Drill Press possibilities

tombuhl

Confronted once again with circumstances where a floor model drill press would be useful, but my bench top model can't do it, so I'm pondering adding a floor model DP to my estate. I like the looks of the PowerMatic model Marc has. Any experience any of you can share on the topic?

On my recent TWW Shop Tour, some fine gentleman made fun of my Ryobi DP amidst the PM big toys, so I just can't let that happen again. ; )

I have a number of PM machines and feel good about them. Have a Grizzly 18" band saw which gets the job done, but just doesn't have the solid feel I'd prefer [good value though, so not complaining]. Besides greater depth between table and bit, I notice that the PM has 18 inch reach which sounds useful. Current Roybi has 10" reach (I believe) which keeps being insufficient. Actually fine for bulk of my work, but there are times...

I am an avid amateur, not a production shop.

Thanks

Tom, I don't know if anyone makes them anymore. But, I have an old radial arm DP. LOVE this thing. It sits on the corner of a bench. I can swivel off the edge of the bench if I need to do something with an extremely long bit. But, I've never really run into the situation. It also allows me to drill at angles without using wedges.

Great minds think alike, Tom :) I had some long holes to bore the past two days and I also have a Ryobi benchtop DP. Monkeying with the table height then having to resquare the table to the bit gets old. For small stuff, it's great. I've been thinking a new full-height drill press is what I want, nay need.

I was thinking of a Powermatic drill press as well and considering the current Powermatic/Jet sale, I'll just figure out the model I want and wait for the 2-weeks when drill presses are on sale.

But other better options could steal the gold. Opinions?