Arts & Crafts oak finish for beginner

pdovy

I'm pretty new to woodworking and have been making my way through a simple Arts & Crafts style side table in a class at a local woodworking school.  So far it's come out great - so I'd like not to screw it up now!  It's all white oak, with the tabletop out of quartersawn with prominent ray flecks.

The instructor was suggesting just a clear wiping varnish (a la TWW) since it's difficult to mess up.  I would really like a more traditional looking mission/A&C finish though, something that will really show off the grain of the oak and the QS features.  I have some spare QS boards that I can experiment on if I can find something that sounds reasonable.

I've looked around online and found an article by Jeff Jewitt in a back issue of FWW: http://www.finewoodworking.com/how-to/article/safe-and-simple-arts-and-crafts-finish.aspx

That seemed like a good and not too difficult option but the stains he recommends don't seem to exist anymore, and with no experience in finishing I'm not sure of an appropriate subsitute.

I also saw he has a more recent guide to replicating Stickley finishes (http://homesteadfinishingproducts.com/pdf/mission_oak_rev1-2011.pdf), but it's a bit more complicated than I'd like for a first go around.

Does anybody have any easy recommendations for a first time finisher?

Thanks guys.  I took a look at your shop journal Mike (nice work!) and had a watch of a few of Marc's videos.  I think I'm going to get two different shades of brown TransTint dye, two different darker walnut oil based stains (General Finishes is easiest to get where I'm located) and some Arm-R-Seal and do some test boards and see what I think.

==> and do some test boards and see what I think

you've got that 100% correct !

Now, one suggestion....

The schedule for popping ray fleck on White Oak for a 'Mission' look is not quite the same as popping grain/figure in maple..