Question about a used router

WesF

Hello All, I am very new to the woodworking world and found this site recently. I read a post where someone said always check Craigslist for good deals so I did. I've been looking for a router and I actually came accross a DeWalt planer. However in the description the man mentioned he had a lot of other tools including a router so I emailed him. This is what he is offering and I want to know if this is a good deal or not. This is was his reponse "  the router is a "frued" 3-1/4 horsepower high quality super heavy duty 1/2 inch shank 300 $ for freud router table and three bits that are new that total 125$ a tongue and groove bit costs 70$ and two cabinet joining bits cost 89$ new in box." So he is asking $300 for all of this. I tried to find out more info on the Freud router and table online but seems like they don't make it anymore. Thoughts? Thanks

Sounds like a Freud FT3000.  Freud routers made a bit of a splash around the year 2000.  They had above the table features and a long extending arbor/collet all of which made them attractive for table routing.  The price was in line with other competitive products.

Surf the forums and you will find folks who have been running them for years.  The downside is that which comes with any discontinued product; parts availability.

Router bits can be poor to good.  His email does not make it clear that the router bits are Freud but, the new prices he quotes are about in line with what Freud bits of that type cost.

Freud router tables were generally benchtop style although they did offer a couple of floor standing models before they moved away from this market.  Pictures would help.

If you need the bits, then this is definitely a good deal, but those bits are fairly specialized (if they were roundover bits, straight bits, chamfer bits, etc then you would use them often but I'm not sure whether you have a project that needs those specific bits)