Question Regarding Wiring of new 240v Tool

Matticus

Hi,

I've looked at all the posts I could find about how to wire the Jet JJP-12HH, but am still unsure how to do it in my situation.

I'd like to use my 4 prong dryer outlet, but am unsure what to do about the 2 hot lines. It's two hots, a neutral, and a ground. The wire that comes with the tool is a white, black, and green. All in 14 gauge.

I'm assuming the black is hot, the white is neutral, and the green is ground, correct?  I was going to make a 14 gauge extension cord (b/c the motor says it runs at 13 amps) with a 4 prong dryer plug on the end, but not sure if I can just combine the two hot lines into the 1 black wire of the extension cord.

Also, I would have thought that I'd need a bigger wire than 14 gauge if Jet says they want a 30amp outlet, but that's the cable they provided.  Any advice would be appreciated.  Thanks!

Someone will respond with a definitive answer on this (I am not an expert), but if it is 220, you need two hots. Unless that supplied wire was intended as 110v, both the black and white would be hots. It is common practice among electricians to put some red tape on the white wire to make this clear. The green is ground, there is no neutral. I googled 3-4 220v converter and it looks like you can buy something that will make the plugs compatible without messing with the wiring.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Also, I recall when I got my get jet table saw, there was a table to suggest the wire size based upon how long the cord was. I'll see if I can look it up for you.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

White should be neutral in the outlet.  For the tool wire, black and white are each hot, green ground, and no neutral needed.  Three wire typically comes Black, White, and Green, so it would actually not be that easy for them to use black, red, green.