Do you do your own design work?

evenprimes

Do you do your own designs?  

34 members have voted

1. 1. Do you design your own projects or use pre-done plans?

• Always design my own
    • Usually design my own, but have used pre-done plans
    • Usually use pre-made plans, but have done some design
    • Always use pre-done plans

I'm a very novice woodworker, but the main attraction was in building items that I designed.  I assumed that most (all?) woodworkers would be the same.  

However, after listening to a few woodtalk shows and seeing some comments here, I'm now wondering how many woodworkers DO design their own projects.

Just to be clear, there's nothing truly new, so I recognize that we're all inspired by other things.  It's one thing to build a item based on a picture you saw (that's you doing the design) and another for you to go measure that item and copy those measurements (that's someone else doing the design).  

I'm not saying one way is right or wrong, but I'm curious about how people approach their projects.

So, how do YOU approach design?

I usually see something I like and pretty much copy it and change a few things to suit my own needs and ideas.

However, I really enjoy coming up with my own projects and ideas and working things out for myself.

CanCrusher03-08IMG_0095.jpg 

I have also made a wooden windmill for the back yard (decoration only), an oak belt and buckle, and some pencil boxes for the kids at church, and bunch of boxes and games for the grand kids.  :D

I just naturally migrate to the unusual and fun things.

Rog