Looking For a Bandsaw

Scott Bybee

Hey everyone, I'm looking to buy my first bandsaw and was hoping you guys could give me some help.  I've been thinking about buying a Grizzly as they seem to have good word of mouth... problem is, there are so many different models to choose from.  I want to spend less than $1000, and there are ten models in that price range on Grizzly's website.  I'm a rank amateur and hobbyist, but I don't want to buy a cheaper model only to find down the line that it lacks some features I might need.  I'll be doing some resawing, but nothing too large... I'll mostly use the saw for smaller work.

Rule of thumb, if your budget is 1000 then buy the best bandsaw in that price range that you can afford. Things to consider, if you are turning or big on resawing, you want ample power and resaw capacity. If you are making larger furniture curves or using for large safer than table saw rip operations, you want a bandsaw with a larger throat. If you are 220 equipped in your shop, you should be able to score a nice grizzly 17" bandsaw.

I bought the Grizzly G0555P a couple years ago and have been VERY happy with it.  If I bought one right now, and had your budget, I would seriously look at the Anniversary 17" bandsaw, assuming 220 is a possibility.  If 220 isn't, I would look at either the Anniversary 14" bandsaw or the Extreme 14".  Links to all the bandsaws I mentioned below.

http://www.grizzly.com/products/14-1-HP-Bandsaw-Polar-Bear-Series-/G0555P

http://www.grizzly.com/products/17-2-HP-Bandsaw-Anniversary-Edition/G0513ANV

http://www.grizzly.com/products/14-Deluxe-Bandsaw-Anniversary-Edition/G0555LANV

http://www.grizzly.com/products/14-Extreme-Series-Bandsaw/G0555X