Wood Recomendation

Chestnut

Bell Forrest is having a sale and i want to try two new things at once. I'm looking for an interesting wood to work with something that I've never used before and something that isn't available to me locally.

Available Locally

Hickory/pecan, Oak, Maple, Ash, Beech, Birch, Cedar, Doug Fir, Alder, Poplar, Cherry, Padauk, Sapele, Hon Mahogany, Lepordwood, Ganalco Alves, Wenge, Zebrawood, Teak, Purple Heart, Basswood, Ash, Walnut, Jatoba, Gabon Ebony, Macassar Ebony, Cocobolo, Bloodwood, Bubinga, bocote.

I'm sure i missed a couple from my local yard that i don't pay much attention to, i was just going off memory.

So shoot me a recommendation. I'm probably going to use the wood as either a nightstand box or accents.

58 minutes ago, shaneymack said:

Kingwood !

That was my second thought, First thought was a 10 BF project pack of curly red leaf maple. Now idk.

2 minutes ago, wdwerker said:

Koa is beautiful, curly Koa can be incredible !

They are out unfortunately. :(

Just now, shaneymack said:

You are able to find kingwood?

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk

On bell forrest, yeah. I've never seen it locally doubt i ever will. Though t local guy did get some rosewood and a few ebony species so i shouldn't say never.

Would it be a waste to use the kingwood on a picture frame?

19 minutes ago, Chestnut said:

On bell forrest, yeah. I've never seen it locally doubt i ever will. Though t local guy did get some rosewood and a few ebony species so i shouldn't say never.

Would it be a waste to use the kingwood on a picture frame?

Never a waste if that's what you want.

• 2 weeks later...
On 5/19/2016 at 11:26 AM, shaneymack said:

You are able to find kingwood?

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk

My local guy bought a load of exotics that will be here within the month with some kingwood. I'm starting to find that the only thing i can't get locally is some good flame birch and good curly maple. Seems completely backwards.