Electricity in the Shop

gardnesd

Hey all, I'm currently working out of my garage. I have been doing serious woodworking for about 6 months. The garage is essential covered by 1 15amp circuit. It's definately not enough. I cannot ALWAYS run my track saw and festool dust vac at the same time. God forbid I have a space heater as well. Also, when we move into this house we "moved" the laundry room. Now the dryer and washer are on the same circuit as well. It's good times. :angry:

I have plans to build a shop in the backyard in the next 2 years and most of my troubles will be gone. However, it appears that all of the breaker spaces on my panel are taken. Is there a way to add a second panel? I know very little about ele contracting etc. How much $$$ am I looking at?

Your probably going to have to run a sub-panel out to at least 100amp service to feed the equipment in the shop. I have 220 going to my garage and then it is split up to feed saws, lights, etc. You might need certain breakers for the table saw since that has a slow start up. Just my 1cent :D

You might really think about getting someone who does electrical work and check your town codes.

No, I wasn't thinking of doing it myself. I can see a saw blade turning. I can't see electriciey, and so....

Your probably going to have to run a sub-panel out to at least 100amp service to feed the equipment in the shop. I have 220 going to my garage and then it is split up to feed saws, lights, etc. You might need certain breakers for the table saw since that has a slow start up. Just my 1cent :D

You might really think about getting someone who does electrical work and check your town codes.

A subpanel may be far more than you need at this point, and no question that 100A panel is far more than necessary. If you've got the money to burn, then by all means go for it, but a 20A multiwire circuit would be enough for the loads you listed.