Edge Banding Questions on Prefinished Ply

bushwacked

I think my next project will be another cabinet, but I am thinking of using prefinished ply as I hate painting and remembered how much I did on the last cabinet project. So I was going to get edge banding but have heard horror stories of using iron on edge banding and melting or jacking of the finish on the prefin ply. So I was thinking of trying something else like just an adhesive type edge banding or something that is a non ironed edge banding. Also is there any prefinished edge banding? I guess I missed it so far if there actually is.

Thoughts on how to attack prefinished ply with edge banding? I have never done edge banding before ... sooo keep that in mind :) 

Tricky.  First of all I would advise using 3/16" or 1/4" shop-made hardwood banding, glued and clamped with cauls...no nails.  But the challenge will be trimming it flush and leveling it without damaging the already finished surface.  That goes for all banding...but hardwood banding will be more durable and will contribute to an overall higher quality product.  Then you also have the challenge of finishing.  You could mask off but that's gonna be difficult to execute.  There is no prefinished banding that I'm aware of...and if there was, I wouldn't want to use it anyway.

IMO prefinished ply is more appropriate for a face-frame situation.  I'd use raw ply if you're edge banding.

• Like 2

I agree that pre fin=face frames.

Most of the banding that iv prefinished was put on with a big edge bander

That being said you can iron on store bought prefibished edge banding thats meant for heat. It seems to be a bit more heat resistant than normal laquer but can still get messed up if you dilly dally too long.

• Like 1