Staining after BLO

Gabi

Hello!

I'm working with a slab of honey locust, it's my first project and i did the dumb mistake of not getting a separate piece of wood to see the effects of the finish.

I assumed just oil with no stain wouldn't change the wood color too much but i was WRONG. I did a single layer of BLO and now the slab is significantly yellower.

Would it be possible to stain the wood now that i already put a coat of BLO or am I stuck with the yellow?

Thanks!

Maybe but not easily or significantly.  A card scraper could be your best route now ! I always warn people, learn from my mistakes or be doomed to repeat them ! Practice on scrap !!!!!!! Take notes ! Then when you feel confident apply the results of your practice to your project. Ignore this advice at your own peril.......

Pictures?

I've only worked with locust once but recall it was already plenty yellow to begin with.  Linseed oil would certainly take you well into banana territory.  How big is the slab?  I'd pass over the card scraper and go for coarse grit in an orbital sander. 

What sort of grain is it?  Best case scenario, the grain is all wobbly in a pleasing fashion.  We call this curl and you have essentially "popped" the grain.  (Yay)  Worst case scenario:  the grain is all wobbly in an unpleasing fashion.  Your board has now blotched and it's  probably not coming back.  (Boo)

The more important/irreplaceable/expensive the board, the more you can justify burning test boards to see what the finish will do.

• Thanks 1

9 minutes ago, Bombarde16 said:

Pictures?

I've only worked with locust once but recall it was already plenty yellow to begin with.  Linseed oil would certainly take you well into banana territory.  How big is the slab?  I'd pass over the card scraper and go for coarse grit in an orbital sander.