Looking for input for new table saw blade

IthacaDoc

Hi everyone..  New to this forum!

I'm a semi-experienced amateur woodworker, mostly limited by time and workspace.  I built a nice desk for my daughter a few years ago, forcing myself to learn some new joinery techniques.  Now it's time to finally build a couple built-in bookshelves that will flank our fireplace.  I've spent a long time getting the design drawn up.

I have a lovely Grizzly 0715P that has been serving me well.  I replaced the stock blade with a Freud Premier Fusion after I purchased the saw.  Rip and crosscuts are beautiful, but I did find that the 2 1/4 HP is a bit light for the full-kerf blade.  The new bookshelves will be made from sapele since the old fireplace mantel was mahogany.  This will be my first experience with gluing up boards from lumber.  Since I don't have the space for a jointer, I'm hoping my table saw (with a jig) will suffice.  So here's my question:

Should I purchase a new Thin Kerf Premier Fusion or try the Freud Thin Kerf Glue Line blade?  The Fusion is a bit more expensive, but that's not a big concern.  Based on my full kerf blade, I can't imagine a better glue line, but I was hoping to get your input.   Obviously changing out blades is annoying, so if I the combo Fusion will be just as good, I'll go with that.

Thanks very much!

I have the full kerf Glue Line Rip blade and it is great (just remember that it doesn't leave a flat cut, so it isn't good for box joints or splines). 

I just have a little jobsite saw and the full kerf GLR blade cuts easier than the Freud Diablo 40t thin kerf combo blade I have. Changing blades on my saw is a pain, but I still prefer to do that over using my combo blade on everything.

• Like 1

Welcome the the forums Doc.

I use Feud Rip and Cross Cut full kerf blades and I have less hp then you do and the only thing that slows me down some is something like 8/4 maple.  I think some thing that really helps is cleaning the blades regularly.