table saw flatness

toolanddieguy

How Flat should a new saw top be? Just got my new saw in and the table is out of flat .012 inch at the back of the table. There is a spot by the throat plate that is .014 low. It looks like when it was ground the table lifted of the chuck because the finish is very rough in this area. I colored the top with a marker ,then rubbed it with a hone lightly to to highlight the low spots.

Am I being too picky, cause I,m not exactly thrilled with this? I’m a toolmaker by trade,and work with much tighter tolerances than this. Is this just toolmaker OCD?

post-2044-0-79560900-1298506990_thumb.jp

post-2044-0-21526100-1298507016_thumb.jp

Am I being too picky, cause I,m not exactly thrilled with this? I’m a toolmaker by trade,and work with much tighter tolerances than this. Is this just toolmaker OCD?

I'd say yes to both, IF it's just a couple of small spots as you said. If there were larger areas that were involved I'd say you have a gripe. The back of the table has little influence on the quality of the cut and at the area around the blade the flatness of the throat plate would be 'way more important than the small dip in the area you highlighted.

And what did you pay for the saw? Compare that to what you'd pay for a granite surface plate of similar dimensions as its top along with the letter of certification you'd require and expect as a toolmaker. Then look at all the extra parts you got thrown in in the bargain.

If these two areas are all you you can find that aren't exactly perfect I'd have to say you got an exceptional machine, be thankful!

Bill