Need some help on flattening a bowed board

Meatwad

Well I wasted a good bit of time today. I am building a patio chair and I needed a 32 inch (approximately) single board for a backrest support. The particular board I have has a about a 1/8 inch cup right in the center of it. I was trying to solve this using only my jointer and that did not work. The cup stayed no matter what I did. I'm still a rookie at this so I would appreciate some advice on how to handle this better in the future. What can I do when I get into a situation like this?

I'm suspecting that you also have some twist in the board.  Set the board on a known flat surface (frowning) and check for wobble.  This will tell you which corner(s) may be high or low (twist).  The high corner(s) will need to be removed first.  This can be done on the jointer by keeping the downward pressure on the high corner(s) all the way through the pass.  Once that wobble is gone, you should be able to flatten/plane normally.

2 minutes ago, Meatwad said:

Ugh, guys I'm sorry, I should've said my board is bowed, not cupped. I'm still a noob.

Ah..  Ok...  That's a bit different..  No worries, I'm sure we can help you through it..

Depending on how much it's warped, it may be savable..  Place the board on your jointer so that the high middle is on the bed (smiling).  Keep the pressure on one end and keep making passes until the side sits flat on the jointer bed.  From there, you can go to the planer.

The bad thing with a "warped" board is that if the board is too warped, by the time you get it flat, it may be too thin to use.

If the board has a lot of warp to it, it's best to get a different board.  If the board is only "warped" a small amount then, the method above should work just fine.