Impact Driver

Naomi

Hi, everyone. I am in search of a great impact driver - strongly  leaning to Makita or Milwaukee. I am not a professional but will probably be  building all the cabinetry in the house we're building. I am very overwhelmed with the different models and volt batteries. I am unable to test them out in Lowe's or Home Depot because I live in Israel and rely on YouTube for reviews (and I am still confused!). So i figured I would ask here. I am not a very large  woman  by any  means and not especially strong - just average. So something on the smaller and lightweight side. I was advised to go for brushless 18v but I am wondering if 12v will do. Thanks!

Get a variable speed drill instead of the impact. I use and like Makita. Stay with one brand so if you expand and need another tool the batteries will be interchangeable in the same brand. 18v is not the smallest but an average lady should have no trouble with the size, especially if you use both hands.

In a drill (also used as a driver), more volts generally provide the same power at less amps. That means more work per charge, typically. If you prefer the smaller, lighter weight system, just be prepared to charge a little more often. For average use, probably not a nuisance, but during large jobs, it might be. Having a second battery on the charger is a good idea.

As has been said, if this is your first cordless tool then don't shop for the tool, shop for the line up.  E.g. Milwaukee has a 12 V line and an 18 V line, so it's not just by brand.  You're not going to want to support multiple batteries/chargers and it's nice to be able to trade batteries between tools.  So look at the breath of tools available, even if you can't imagine needing say a cordless edge bander or weed wacker just today.