Dining table construction advice

SAZ

Hey guys! I’m a newbie at building things. My husband and I just built nesting tables and a coffee table and I’m ready to tackle a bigger project but I needed some advice. Hoping you guys can help me out!

I want to build a large square dining table that will seat 8 people. And I want the base to be in the middle of it so it doesn’t have legs getting in the way of the chairs. I want it to be solid oak because I think that’s more durable than plywood or veneer. 

my problems are the following:

- how do I get a large piece of oak? My local Home Depot / Lowes only has oak/birch plywood in those sizes and the 2x10 boards they have are just pine. 

- how do I figure out the width of the base so that the table is stable. I gather that the base will have to be heavier than the top in order for it to be truly stable. 

- what do I use to make the base? Can I just make a square box out of plywood (joined by pocket holes or biscuits/dowels) and use that? 

- am I wrong in looking for solid oak for this project? Should I be using veneer or plywood instead?

The post won’t let me post pictures of my coffee table / nesting tables sadly but we made a fluted round coffee table with an old dining table top I found - turned out it was plywood and I sanded through it so I opted to add oak veneer on top and it looks great! The sides have pine half rounds attached to give it a fluted look. 

for the nesting tables, we used 3 2x6 pine boards joined together by pocket holes and created waterfall edges with 45 degree cuts. 

thanks in advance!

A quick google search of hardwood dealers or saw mills near your area would give you some good results.  Your location will also play a hand in the availability of hardwoods in your area.  Where I'm at there's quite a few smaller operations that I can get wider oak stock, and If you have the ability to mill your own boards buying rough sawn will drastically help in the cost as well.