Belt/Disc Sander Recommendation.

Babs

Want a new 4” x 36” belt/disc sander to replace an old Harbor Freight model.   Looking at the BUCKTOOL BD4801 Bench Belt Sander 4 in. x 36 in Belt with 8 in. Disc Sander; the Shop Fox W1855 4" x 36" Horizontal/Vertical Belt Sander with 6" Disc; the WEN 6502 4 x 36-Inch Belt and 6-Inch Disc Sander with Cast Iron Base.  I am a hobbyist, not quite intermediate level yet.   I looked at Rikon, but reviewers indicate it’s underpowered with a 1/3 hp motor. Also looked at Rockwell but some reviewers had issues with drive belt, and screw for main belt coming loose rendering it useless.     Appreciate recommendations. 

I have no direct experience with any of the listed units, but would prefer the Wen or Shopfox format, as the footprint is slightly more compact. If space is not an issue, I might suggest looking at a separate, larger disk sander. The 6" disk is too small for effective stock removal, as it clogs quickly.

I see that there are multiple other brands with the same format, often with better pricing. Are there particular features found in the units you listed, that you feel important to your workflow?

Also no direct experience and by the lack of responses this may not be rare.  I will say that although I have larger and more powerful sanding solutions I have held on to my cast iron Craftsman 4x36+6.  The motors on these machines are small but when used within their capacity they can do a fine job. 

The cast iron C-man weighs in at nearly 60 pounds so it certainly is solid in use.  This does make it fairly stationary though.  I found a happy medium with it on a flip top at one point.

555869188_fliptop-2009sanderview.thumb.jpg.28a9ee949d5b70b35a8a1794d601e74e.jpg

It has also lived on a fixed stand with a larger shop built table for the belt in the vertical position.  This is my plan for it in the new shop . . . eventually; it's on the list ;-)

On 1/1/2022 at 12:49 AM, wtnhighlander said: