Newbie question- how to dry some logs for working

osp001

I'm in Arizona, and had some work done to a giant Chilean mesquite; there were some larger pieces that would otherwise go to waste, so I asked for them to be saved so I could use them later. They're pretty good-sized- spray paint can for scale.

aecpmZM.jpg

Mainly I'd like to turn them in urns for pet cremains. But it's Arizona, it's 110F every day for the next week, they're starting to crack a bit.

Is there some way I should handle or store these to reduce cracking? It's going to be a while before I can turn these; my lathe is just a little silly toy wood lathe, it's really not capable of handling anything near this size, going to be a while before I can get one that can do that.

Well, welcome to the forum, first of all.  

I don't consider myself an expert in processing/drying logs as I buy most of my turning blanks already dry.  And I have no experience with mesquite.  But I think most turners would split those logs in half lengthwise down the pith (some would even go so far as to cut the pith out), then coat the ends heavily with Anchorseal or equivalent.  

I would turn them on end and pour some cheap or leftover latex paint on the ends, letting it seep into the cracks and brushing to cover the ends. Let dry and do the other ends. This should slow down the drying and checking process. 

You guys are so nice to help me out with this. I appreciate all the advice; it's a bittersweet project, making urns from limbs taken from a tree under which our hounds once played, so I keep putting it off and off and off... plus, it's 114F outside today, and probably for the next week, so I'm in no rush.

Thanks for the words of wisdom, and I'll get these logs treated so they don't crack quite so much. Appreciate it!

• Thanks 1