How far do you "finish" jigs?

Dax

I'm building the exact width dado jig from one of Marc's vids and I'm wondering how far people go to finish or dress their jigs?

As a beginning woodworker I've spent some time making this thing, cause my skills are developing and I go slow. So it's not going to be one of those jigs or shop helpers that I use once and then trash.

Because it's plywood should I edge-band all the sides so the ply isn't exposed at all? What sealer if any?

What do you do with jigs you hope to keep in the shop for a long time?

I don't think I'll ever be jig crazy with racks and racks of jigs, but I love the idea of taking the time to build something that will help me build something better and easier down the road.

Better...faster...stronger!

Thanks for your advice, ideas and replies,

Dax

I think they really need two coats of paint, a clearcoat, then pinstriping. :)

The few I have that I kept usually have Sharpie instructions written on them. If they get near glue, they have packing tape wrapped on them. Thinking back, though, I think I only have 4 I've kept. Basically ran out of pinstriping.

Since this jig isn't a one time use type, I'd be prone to a few coats of shellac. But, considering everything in my shop is built from plywood and I've yet to edge band any of it, I'd skip that. But, each to there own. However, I do believe the pinstriping helps you work fsster.

• Like 1

Pinstriping is a sweet idea.

I was thinking more along the lines of flames or an airbrushed landscape of the Rockies...you know something tasteful.

OR, since there are two rails that slide together it could be like the back of a Mad magazine. Each rail has a separate landscape scene but, when they come together it makes a portrait of Fidel Castro.

Oh man the creative juices are really flow'n.

• Like 1

I am partial to airbrushed scenes of howling wolves. :lol: