Freehand sharpening

paulkray

I recently started learning freehand sharpening. This is not the first attempt. Just the first attempt that is working consistently.

I previously tried freehand sharpening similar to the way one would if they had a sharpening jig, but without the jig. All that made me want to do is go buy the jig.

I am now sharpening the way that Bob Rozaieski shows in his podcasts. (Thanks Bob).

So at this point I am wondering at this point. Especially from people that have been sharpening freehand for a while now. What is your method? The sway like Bob or I act like I have a jig.

Just use the traditional techniques that's been in use at least since Moxon was writing in the 1600's, that Peter Nicholson described in the 1800's and that Stanley described on their plane iron packages in the 1900's. It works, it's fast, it's repeatable and it's very simple. 300 years of use and I don't think anyone has improved on it:

Stanley.jpg

I recently started playing with freehand sharpening also. I use a hollow grind like Bob R et al. but the swaying has work inconsistently for me. I've gotten slightly more consistent results from using the motion more like the one described above. I also have found the for some reason it's easier for me to lift up a few degrees from where the 2 contact points of the hollow grind would place the cutting edge. Don't have any idea why this has been easier for me. In theory the secondary micro bevel should make it harder since I am no longer referencing the two contact points, but for some reason I get better results with the secondary bevel. Anyway, I'm not yet ready to get rid of my honing guides.

I sharpen like Mr. Williams and Mr. Moxon do.