Tools for the trade needed

cody_lathrop

I'm a retired vet at 27 and since I have been retired, I have needed something to occupy the time and woodworking drew me in. Now I am at a time when I could start working on projects and possibly sell them to family members and to a very small community. My only hitch in the whole project is not knowing the required tools of the trade that I need to start making furniture, benches, and possibly some cabnitry. Any help knowing what tools I may need to tackle these projects would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Hi Cody and welcome!

To help you with your quest it would be handy for us to know your woodworking history and skills. Also if you own any tools or if you have access to any from friends or family. To a lesser extent, we also need to know do you have an area like a garage that you can use and if so how big , some dimensions and if it has good lighting. :)

Dave.

I'm a retired vet at 27 and since I have been retired, I have needed something to occupy the time and woodworking drew me in. Now I am at a time when I could start working on projects and possibly sell them to family members and to a very small community. My only hitch in the whole project is not knowing the required tools of the trade that I need to start making furniture, benches, and possibly some cabnitry. Any help knowing what tools I may need to tackle these projects would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

I dunno; a hammer, 2 handsaws (6 pt rip and 8pt cc), 10" handbrace, cordless drill, 29 bit set, screwdrivers, backsaw (12"), tape measure, 2' and 4' levels, pick-up and/or trailor, basic chisel set (narex, 10 for $85 Lee Valley), Bosch jig saw, and either--(1) jack plane (#5, 14"), smoothing plane #4 or 4 1/2, and jointer or (2) power planer, orbital sander, hd belt sander, and finishing sander--might get you started.

First, this isn't a joke. Second, there's a lot more that can be accomplished with hand tools plus power tools.

Good luck.