Beginning Wood Worker - Spray Stations?

RobMorgan

Hi there

I am a beginning woodworker and just got a set of tools and working on my first project. Excited about that! As I looked at tools and read about woodworking, it occurred to me that a sprayer may be great for painting and varnishes, etc. instead of doing it all by hand. Planning on doing quite a number of furniture pieces.

I came across the Earlex sprayers - does anyone have any experience with them? They look like great products and one can use them with all sort of different paints, etc.

Here is the link to their site http://www.earlex.com/hvlp.php.

Let me know your thoughts and suggestions on them

Thanks

Rob

The Earlex is a fine inexpensive starter spray system. It will spray paint and just like any sprayer you need to follow thinning requirements. There is more to spraying than filling the cup and pulling the trigger. If you take the time to learn the more technical side of spraying the earlex will get you by for awhile.

Don

I bought an Earlex 5000 Pro turbine system used from a woodworking acquaintance last fall. I've used it on 4-5 projects now, mainly for top coating. It is easy to use, easy cleanup, well made and capable of producing fine results. Like most things, you need to practice to develop good technique, and that goes for any spray system.

I think this unit has ben superseded by a newer model that shares much the same components as mine.

Would I buy it again? Yes. Would I recommend it without hesitation? Yes.

There are a number of videos featuring it on you tube.

• Like 1

Thanks everyone..... just finally figured out how to read the replies - ha! So sorry if this is a duplicate to some. I am considering biscuit joining for the shelf. Seemed the best way to go to me.