curly oak? how common?

duckkisser

hey i just went to menards and they had a huge 16 foot board of oak that the last couple feet was high density curl. havent seen that yet but im still new to the wood working life and havent been to enough mills and lumber yards to know if this is common. so is it? how often is curly oak found i know maple is fairly common but oak? it had some incredable deep color to it and the stripes were almost black they were that rich (no dye needed)

I spent twenty min talking to some 16 year old kid(lumber manager) trying to convince him to sell me the last few feet of the board. no dice his response was why would you want to own that its disfigured all these other boards have this nice red grain to it that one the grain goes sideways in that area. so trying to decide if i want to buy 10 by 16 for 50 dollers just so i can have the curl and use the rest of the oak for other projects. if i went to a lumber store and bought 10 by 2" in high density curly oak how much would i be looking to spend?

and i saw some poplar there that had deep purple streaks through it. i know that poplar heart can can be green, yellow, redish and purple but how much will that purple fade or change colors over time?if its going to mostly go away then im not going to bother buying it but if it will stay the dark purple that it is then ill go pick it up for a set of matching jewlary boxes.

I stumbled upon a bunch of curly quartersawn white oak at my Connecticut dealer. I ended up using it in bookmatched panels on my own new kitchen. It looks fantastic with a 33/33/33 oil / shellac / turpentine rub under sprayed Ultrastar, and Horton Brasses antique brass pantry latches and leaf hinges.

My wife is nuts over it! B) I wish I could get more, but it was not segregated because of the curly figure.

I only wish I could get it to photograph better...

• Like 1