Pine Floor Finish

jbean26

Hi All,

We are installing a yellow pine floor and a white pine floor in two areas of our new home. The wood was milled from our home site so we are excited to be using it in this way. The two rooms are our loft, which is the master bedroom and our spare bedroom. I'm looking for advice on how to finish the floor. We aren't concerned with dings, scratches, and dents...it's a pine floor and we are fine with the character. I've never been a big fan of Poly-Urethane finishes for multiple reasons. Has anyone used anything that they were really happy with on a similar floor or have any suggestions! Thanks!

As a remodeling contractor I get to use a lot of different products on a daily basis or work with other contractors that use products that I have not.

One of the products that impressed me for flooring was Waterlox. http://www.waterlox.com/solutions/

Most flooring contractors use a type of urethane that is a 2-part mix that cures as a chemical reaction. This is a film type of finish that when scratched or dented heavily can cause a little bit of separation at the point of damage and peel off over time.

One flooring contractor I met on a job was using Waterlox and swears by it. It is more like using oil on the wood where it soaks into the wood. It is easily renewed with a maintenance coat and does not form a film finish, it looks like a hand-rubbed oil finish. This is highly desirable since rustic log homes are popular here in Montana.

Since it is not a film type finish, any damaged area does not suffer from the finish popping off. This is better in the long run.

Do not be put off by the price per gallon, if you are purchasing a quality professional product for a floor coating, it is competitive. If you are looking for something in the $35 per gallon price range, you will be disappointed in the results over time.