needs some advice

cusas6

Hi All,

I'm just getting started at building nice things out of wood. I've done lots of rough construction. Built a few really nice sheds and what not, but now I want to build some nice furniture. The first thing I built was a dog gate. Used some red oak from Home Depot, sanded it down, used dowels in my joinery and all and all it turned out nice. Probably a little overkill for the 3 chihuahua's we have, but it works.

My next project is to build a side table that doubles as a dog crate. I've spent several weeks with Sketchup and think I'm ready to get building. I've got the tools (grizzly jointer, dewalt planer and a porter cable tablesaw, bosch router, etc). The only thing I'm really missing to make my "shop" complete is a bandsaw. But that'll be my first purchase if this side table turns out good.

I'm all set to build this thing I just don't know what to build it out of. I'm assuming I should avoid buying my wood from Home Depot or Lowes. I've been to our local lumber yard and they have a few options to choose from in the way of walnut, cherry and other types. Some in 4/4 and others in 6/4 or 8/4. I was planning on making 2 of the 4 sides with sort of a raised panel door style (so the dogs to pee out those sides) and the other two were going to have slats and the long side, a door. All of the sides I wanted to be 3/4" thick. My thought was get some 4/4 something and joint it and plane it down to 3/4. The top I wanted thicker so i was going to get 6/4 or 8/4 and plane that down and joint several piece together to make the big piece I needed. The bottom I was thinking melomine in case of accidents.