Alternatives to Lock Miter Bit for boxing lally pole cover

ajs432

So I'm a newb and I have a project I need to complete to finish my basement.  Lally pole cover boxes go for $130 online and essentially they just send you some lock mitered MDF and some masonry screws.  I figure I should be able to buy the bit and save a ton of money and just do it myself.  Well, cheapest well reviewed bit I can find is $80 and I don't have a router table which it seems like is a necessity for this bit.  So looking for alternatives that would be strong enough to hold up to someone leaning on this thing with nothing but cleats on the floor and ceiling and the column itself.  Any suggestions?  Looking to spend $50 or less, otherwise may as well pony up the $130 for the pre mitered boards.  Tools I have at my disposal: Table Saw, Circular Saw, Compact Router, Compound Miter Saw, plus dowel jig and the usual hand tools.

you can do this on the table saw with a mitered spline joint, you cut the 45deg. miters on all your pieces leaving the 45deg. angle on the saw put the fence on the other side of the blade, now lower the blade and adjust the fence to make the spline slots. Now make your spline stock and it will look something like this practice on some scrap to dial in your technique.

med_gallery_2926_751_68669.jpg

• Like 1

Hey Coop, I hear builders say lally column.

I wrap cylindrical steel by cutting square blocks of stock after drilling holes the size of the column through. I can use the blocks as glue or nail supports. The wrap is then fully braced on the column with no need to fasten to the concrete.

• Like 1

K Cooper I saw that video too, but I also read that you aren't supposed to have any wood touching the pole, would also need to buy a pretty hefty bit to bore a 3" hole in the wood which would probably be just as costly as the lock miter bit.