Thinner end grain cutting board

Yetiwood

Hi. I'm brand new to wood working, and am considering making an end grain cutting board like the one featured on the podcast for my mom for Christmas.

I was hoping to make it thinner (like 1/2" or 3/4") so that it would be lighter, and easier for her to handle. I just wanted to check in with the experts and get an idea of any problems or complications this may entail. First, I understand that slicing it thinner on the table saw is a concern, is it too small to be done safely? Will it tear out? Is that too thin for the board to be stable, and possibly split easier? Are there any other concerns I should be aware of?

I appreciate any input on this. The podcast itself has been a big encouragement for me to get into woodworking, which i was considering for a while as a hobby, but it's not cheap to get started, and at first seemed a bit daunting. Having the podcast has really helped me understand how to get started, and I'm looking forward to learning such a creative and useful skill. Thanks Marc.

When you clamp it for the glue up, the thinner pieces are more likely to pop out of alignment, because you have less vertical surface where they are resting against each other. You can use cauls (straight scrap-wood) and clamps to keep the pieces lined up. Putting packing tape on the cauls will prevent them from getting glued to the cutting board.

Hi. I'm brand new to wood working, and am considering making an end grain cutting board like the one featured on the podcast for my mom for Christmas.