New hobby - finishing for work table

TonyCT

Hello all, I'm new to woodworking; had some basic tools that were just collecting dust, moved to a new home and decided I wanted a hobby. (I apologize if this is wrong forum)

I have no concept of types of wood or how to plan a project.  I am learning as I go and though the internet is useful haven't looked up any videos or forums (until this one) to learn.

My first project is a work bench/table for more projects and tools. Went down to the home depot and picked up some lumber - bought 4x4s and cut them to about 4' trimmed the top to fit my 2x4 frame (3'x5') Also got some 2x8 and 2x10 for the table surface. 

I'm thinking of how to complete the project; i figure that I should probably put some sort of finish on the wood to protect it.  Or perhaps to protect me from it.  The project is only during little bit of free time, so some of the wood sat waiting and pieces seemed to have some sap squeezing out of the cut portions.

I don't think I care to stain the wood, just seal it off.  This is my first project and will probably revisit and build another table down the road when(if) I keep this up and get better.

This is my progress so far.  I plan to add 2 more 2x4 blocks into the middle of the frame to help support the table surface. I included a link to a Google Drive shared folder since they all seemed to be too large for upload.

Photos of Project

• Like 1

Welcome! It sounds like the table already has plenty of beef to it, unless you're using it to work on engine blocks ;)

Depending on what the table is for, you might not need much of a finish.  If you want something quick just to protect it a bit, get a wipe-on poly or similar product, should be easy to apply and quick enough.  Some of my shop furniture is just quick-and dirty stuff so I don't apply any finish and it does just fine.