Is a Festool Dust Extractor Really Worth it?

RJsumthn

I am looking into getting a wet/dry vac and I keep thinking about the Festool Dust Extractor and wondering if it is really worth it. 

A little background on my situation; I currently do not own a wet/dry vac, any dust collection, or Festool products. I do however plan on getting dust collection and diving into the world of Festool. I am still new to woodworking and am building my tool collection and I want to get the best value out of my purchases. 

I know that for a shop-vac to last in a woodshop you need a cyclone dust separator. I am expecting to spend $200-$250 for a shop-vac plus a separator. But a Festool Dust Extractor will be at least $600 dollars. Is it really worth the extra money? 

I do plan on definitely getting a Festool Track Saw and Sander in the future but that is probably a year away. I will be getting a jointer and planner first.

I have the TS 55 and ETS 150/5 from Festool. I used the TS 55 with a normal shop vac and had no issues at all, but the sander is where the variable suction on the sander comes in handy. I used the sander with my shop vac and I could see the dust caked up between the pad and paper. Also, not all the dust was getting caught. I decided to buy the CT midi, and thankfully I was within 30 days from buying my sander, and got the 10% discount. I noticed the difference immediately.

Believe me, they are expensive, but they are worth every penny. Especially with a sander and a vacuum. You will use those on every single project.

Remember RJ, these vacuums use bags. You can use them without a bag, but it is not recommended. 5 bags run $30. However, with the new material on the midi bags I can see it being very easy to cut open on the bottom and then clamp closed. I have not tested that theory yet, but I will soon.