DMT plate vs Norton (non)Flattening Stone

ramonekalsaw

Hello … I’m new to sharpening. I recently bought the Norton Combo Stone Kit – 220/1k + 4k/8k stones ... which includes … many would say … the (non) Flattening stone. I’ve read that many advise replacing the Norton flattener with the DMT course stone. But before I do that … and before I start using the stones … what do you think about using the 220 grit for flattening?

Thinking to myself … but what about when I need to grind ? ... I really wouldn’t want to grind on my flattening stone … would I?

Am I thinking about this correctly : /

Thanks for your insights …

Ramone

Hey Ramone,

First off, as you have read, don't trust the flattening stone.  In fact, I have seen enough non-flat-flattening stones returned from unhappy customers to construct a non-flat house.  ;)

I use an Extra Course DMT to flatten my 1000 grit stone and then rub them together from there.  1000 to 4000.   4000 to 8000, etc.  This way I always have a reliable flat reference.

As far as grinding goes, you want to take your tool down as fast as possible without damaging the steel, obviously.  IMO there is no substitute for a slow speed grinder with good quality wheels.  The challenge with using the 220 grit stone is keeping it flat and the extra working time rubbing the tool on the stone.  Meaning a grinder is faster.  But this is a viable strategy.

miw!

Grind on one side, save the other for flattening. Of course all the other views submitted are quite valid. Ultimately a DMT is the way to go, but reality says use what you have in the mean time.

But if the combo set is different grits on either side this isn't going to work.