Buy Wood In Connecticut

tedfmcm

Being a CT woodworker, I was curious where any other folks went to pick up their wood in the area.  So far I've been going to Parkerville Wood in Manchester, CT but was curious if I'm missing out or if this is the best around.  I live in West Hartford so the closer to central CT the better.

Thanks!

Hi Ted.  I'm also in CT but down in Greenwich. 

I've bought wood from Rob at Board Silly in Ridgefield - it's a crazy place - like a big muddy lot with piles of huge logs, but I got some beautiful ambrosia maple there that he dried in the kiln for me.  It's 318 Ethan Allen Highway (Rt 7) in Ridgefield - phone is 203 438 3631).  I've also gone to ML Condon in White Plains, NY (I know that's not much help!).

There's a Downes and Reader outlet in Milford that I've been meaning to go to - we used to live in the Boston area and I'd go to their place in Stoughton, MA.  I always had great luck there.  Here's the website:  http://www.downesandreader.com/

How's Parkerville Wood?

• Like 1

There's a Downes and Reader outlet in Milford that I've been meaning to go to - we used to live in the Boston area and I'd go to their place in Stoughton, MA.  I always had great luck there.  Here's the website:  http://www.downesandreader.com/

I live in the Boston area and go to the Stoughton Downes and Reader.  But my wife is from Milford CT, so i recently visited their Milford store.  It's great.  Just as big as the Stoughton one.  Great selection and the employees are super nice and helpful.  Highly recommend.  Worth the short drive from West Hartford.

• Like 1

Ok great, thanks for the feedback.

Parkerville is good...have a pretty decent selection of 6/4 but not too much of the thicker Curly Maple boards as I would like, at least last time I went.  I'm sure they can do special orders may have more now and the staff is nice and helpful.