Anybody have a guess what type of wood this is?

nwhomesteader

*edited my confusing wording.

I bought it from a guy selling a lot of Malaysian mahogany. He had two boards seperate from the mahogany which he called iron wood and said he used it for rails on his boat. He also mentioned he thinks it comes from eucalyptus, I don't think he's right. What I do know is that it's incredibly dense, heavy, and hard. I cut this piece off an 8 foot board so I could joint and plane it. The pictures don't do it justice but it's a deep chocolate brown.

The piece is 2"x5.5"x 11" and weighs over 5 lbs. It's like picking up a chunk of aluminum.

5d88d20c2b8411d1964cbb244373c072.jpg

7683ca238ef0eb310ddde05dff022777.jpg

c302e548c3aeba9cab2f1a98776d25db.jpg

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk

• Like 1

Never heard of 'malaysian mahogany.' I'm not an expert but reminds me of Khaya (african mahogany), and if I were a betting man, I'd bet it is probably some type of 'non-geniune' mahogany (not from cuba or honduras). Regardless, it sure is beautiful, and seems like you have nice big dimensions with good straight grain. Let us know what you build with it!

• Like 2

Sorry I made that sound confusing. There was primarily what he called "Malaysian mahogany" and the two pieces of this "iron wood" which was seperate from the mahogany (and much much heavier). The mahogany was stenciled stating it was a Malaysian export. The iron wood I imagine was an export from the same area.

Here's a picture with the iron wood on top compared to the mahogany.

Thanks for any info!

5360883b31f9c84d888737a486a49561.jpg

My camera did a much better job showing the color of the "iron wood" next to the mahogany.

I think it is Borneo Ironwood, also known as Ulin or Belian.

http://www.vmark.com.sg/pdf/ironwood.pdf

It kind of looks like it, there's that ironwood name... and it has a weight of around 70 lbs/ft3 which is what your sample of .07 ft3 at 5 lbs works out to(well 71.4, but close enough).