nice clamp-on, cheap LED light

Tom King

I took a gamble on one of these, and it's much better than I expected.  The clamp is very strong, the light is a good quality in the field of view, and the flexible neck stays where you put it with little backlash after bending it.   I'll probably get several more.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Table-Goose-neck-LED-Lamp-Clamp-Flexible-Clip-Desk-Bright-Adjustable-Work-Light/272994189110

• Like 1

33 minutes ago, wtnhighlander said:

I have several of these that I can move around. 

I use a $7 apiece Feit 90 watt eq LED floodlight bulb from Costco in a $7 clamp light with a 5.5" reflector from Lowes. Of course I buy 4 of each at a time.  Gotta pay tax but no wait & no shipping. 

Same bulb in a "Tertial  Lamp " from ( heavens forbid-IKEA) works well too !

I'm sure Tom's light is nice and has a place in the shop. Just an alternative that I've been using for quite a few years. Well to be honest 8 years ago the bulbs were around $ 35 apiece and weighed a whole lot more.  Had to find stronger springs for the IKEA lamps just to make it work .......

If that clamp on light looks like the one that was linked to earlier in the thread, only smaller, that's the same light I clamp onto the hawk when I'm finishing sheet rock.  I put it right against the wall, and it shows every little imperfection.

The spring in the ebay light that I started this thread about, is a lot stronger that those type of clamps, and the jaws are steel.  It's actually even a little difficult to operate for non-working hands.  The diameter of the light part is probably a little less than 3", but I never measured it.

I think it provides as good light as some of the much higher dollar "lathe" lights.   I have no idea how long it lasts, but if it lasts for years, it will be an extra good deal.