Walnut Transtint Dye on Cherry

Isaac

I'm making a coffee table for a friend. He would like a dark walnut color. Problem is, I just finished a major walnut project and the material is just too darn expensive for me right now. So I built the piece out of Cherry. I know cherry is beautiful on its own and I know it darkens with age, but I'd like to deliver something that is a bit darker on arrival. To that end, I purchased some transtint dye, which I've never worked with before. 

I mixed up some dye with 50% Water, 50% Denatured Alcohol and applied with a rag. It seems to darken the wood immediately and dries very fast, but it does seem to be a bit uneven, with dark and light areas. 

Should I be looking at applying a pre-conditioner of some sort? 

Am I barking up the wrong tree? should I be looking at a regular stain product instead?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

First off, kudos for using a test board and not experimenting with your finished piece.  This is not often the case for reasons that escape me.  I mix Transtint with water or with alcohol but, not with both.  Was there a reason for this?

From the Transtint website (their CAPS not mine):

"TO USE AS A DYE STAIN – Mix with tap or distilled water for an economical, non-flammable stain. OR mix with alcohol for a fast-drying, non-grain raising stain."

Moving on, dye will color everything but, the absorption rate due to material density can still make things appear blotchy.  Don't get me wrong, I use dyes to avoid blotch or to match inconsistent tones if I use a colorant at all.  I would try a lighter mix and choose alcohol for the fast dry time/non-grain raising characteristics.  Each application should darken the area to the point where you reach saturation of the color of the dye.  That is, a light brown dye will not become a dark brown dye no matter how many applications you make.