What to get for mortise and tennons?

Nick2cd

I'm pretty new to woodworking. i have made several end grain cutting boards and everyone loves them, but i think it's time to up my game. i need to start developing my skill-set. i want to start making mortise and tennon joints and building some furniture. so, what is the best tool for the job? i don't have a drill press, so this could be a good excuse to buy one. or, should i go with a hollow chisel mortiser? or should i find an edge guide for my router and try to make them that way? i know with the router and drill press, i will have to clean up the edges with chisels.

I'm pretty new to woodworking. i have made several end grain cutting boards and everyone loves them, but i think it's time to up my game. i need to start developing my skill-set. i want to start making mortise and tennon joints and building some furniture. so, what is the best tool for the job? i don't have a drill press, so this could be a good excuse to buy one. or, should i go with a hollow chisel mortiser? or should i find an edge guide for my router and try to make them that way? i know with the router and drill press, i will have to clean up the edges with chisels.

Unless you want to have through tenons, you don't need to square the ends of the mortises. I'm a huge fan of slip, or loose tenons. I'd say go the router method. You'll find a lot of tutorials on router mortising jigs. Just google it.

Nick,

I have a drill press attachment and found that it was just as fast to use a Forstner bit and chisel by the time I was cleaning up the variation left from the attachment. I was having a slight twisting of the chisel holding assembly (not the chisel) as I moved down the mortise.

I assume a dedicated mortise machine would have eliminated any twisting, but I didn’t buy a one because of a space issue. If space and money were not an issue, I’d have a floor model.