I need help/ i have a question about a Laguna PFlux 3 connection

Jonny

I just bought the laguna p|flux 3 and i will be running all my pipe on Monday, but it came with a 8" by 4" 3 port connector and I was wondering if i could remove it and just route an 8" down to 6" reducer and connect with that or do I have to connect to one of the 4" ports? i feel like i read somewhere that you can use 2 of the 4" ports and then leave one open. But i am VERY new to all of this and I dont want to break my dust collector by hooking up a single 8" connection if it is not meant to handle that, please help. and thank you!!

Yes you can just reduce from the 8" to 6".  You don't harm a dust collector by restricting the airflow.  It's counter-intuitive but the more restricted it is the less power it draws.  In fact if you just completely close off the inlet that is when it will draw the least power as it's not doing much work.

2 hours ago, krtwood said:

Yes you can just reduce from the 8" to 6".  You don't harm a dust collector by restricting the airflow.  It's counter-intuitive but the more restricted it is the less power it draws.  In fact if you just completely close off the inlet that is when it will draw the least power as it's not doing much work.

so then i'm good to remove that 8" piece with the three 4" ports and just add an 8" reducer and the 6" pipe to it?

thank you krtwood

Untitled.jpg

I confess I don't understand the science of this issue.   Look at it this way.  My P-Flux 3 came with the same 3x4"  reducer.  It also came with rubber plugs for two of the three ports.  So I figure I'm supposed to be able to run the machine with only 1 port open.  I have had the machine a couple of years and run with one or two ports closed.  By the way even if all 3 of the 4" ports are open the total area is 25% less than the 8" openning.

OK, got that.