Returning to the hobby

Harry1962

Hello All,

I'm new to the forum. I've been doing construction,remodeling and repair for 30+ years but left the "recreational" aspects of woodworking 20 years ago. I am retired now and only do work for family and friends. I need to replace specialized tools I have sold or given away over the past two decades. I am searching the net looking for a good reliable distributor. I am discovering most have inadequate customer service ratings. So..... I'm looking for recommendations for a source. TIA for any and all assistance.

Harry

Welcome.

Hopefully Harry checks back in.  The tool (and other product) world today is very different.  I would no sooner go to a Jet, Powermatic or Minimax dealer for "everything" than I would shop only at Costco.  With the pressures of off-shore competition USA made machines have all but disappeared.  Each maker or brand seems to have their few "best of breed" machines based on quality, customer service, price . . . or a combination of the three.

Lots of folks on here with lots of varied experiences.  This let's you get a tremendous amount of input (and some strong opinions) very quickly.  Target items as individual decisions, gather what everyone and anyone has to say, sort it down to the things that matter to you and make your decisions.  IMHO, single-sourcing is not the most effective way to acquire what you're after. it that is what you were looking for.

• Like 1

8 minutes ago, gee-dub said:

Welcome.

Hopefully Harry checks back in.  The tool (and other product) world today is very different.  I would no sooner go to a Jet, Powermatic or Minimax dealer for "everything" than I would shop only at Costco.  With the pressures of off-shore competition USA made machines have all but disappeared.  Each maker or brand seems to have their few "best of breed" machines based on quality, customer service, price . . . or a combination of the three.