What Is The Most Common Size...

roughsawn

...rough sawn lumber, or S4S lumber that you guys buy for the projects you work on?

And, if you could cut and mill your own lumber for all around use, what dimension would you mill it to for drying...before you could use it in the shop. Also, why does that dimension work best for you? Majority of work, breaking down, ease of storage/use, etc?

I want to simplify my milling work, and perhaps just cut all my lumber to 2-1/2" thick in the future. Then, break down as needed in the shop when the time comes. Just wondering if this is a good idea, or if you guys can give me some different suggestions.

I thought I was done milling, but it's funny when people find out I'm set up to do it...I seem to have a steady free supply of trees for future use.

I prefer to buy rough, rather than pay the cost of surfacing. As a hobbyist, I don't mind taking the time to mill, and it leaves me with more options on sizing. The rough thickness I use most is 4/4, and some 8/4.  I don't resaw thicker lumber often, as my tool set isn't optimal for that.

Commercial shops lean toward S4S material, because time is money, and standardization is efficiency.

On 1/30/2023 at 1:18 AM, roughsawn said:

...rough sawn lumber, or S4S lumber that you guys buy for the projects you work on?

And, if you could cut and mill your own lumber for all around use, what dimension would you mill it to for drying...before you could use it in the shop. Also, why does that dimension work best for you? Majority of work, breaking down, ease of storage/use, etc?

I want to simplify my milling work, and perhaps just cut all my lumber to 2-1/2" thick in the future. Then, break down as needed in the shop when the time comes. Just wondering if this is a good idea, or if you guys can give me some different suggestions.

I thought I was done milling, but it's funny when people find out I'm set up to do it...I seem to have a steady free supply of trees for future use.