Ebony

I've used ebony, including Gabon, in a few applications. So far I've always used woodworking yellow (PVA) glue. I've used type one, type two and the new type three. Never had any problem with the bond holding. I do wash the ebony surface before glue-up with a quick wipe of denatured alcohol, that seems to be an easy way to eliminate any oils on the surface.

hello

I am new to working with Ebony. I bought some of the Gabon variety...I am wondering how well it glues up and what kind of glue would work best. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

thanks, Mathias

Mathias,

what are you going to use the ebony for? How does it fit into the project?

The trick with Ebony is that it is oily. Since the water from the glue won't penetrate the surface very well, it won't wick the glue into the ridiculously dense grain very easily. For that reason, I wouldn't use a water-based glue. I haven't glued up Ebony like you intend so I'm saying more what I would do than what I've done.

Use a non-water-based glue. Polyurethane glue, as PITA as it is with the foaming, can stick anything together. Epoxy will also work. In both cases, removing as much of the surface oils as possible will give the glue a better hold. Wipe it down with Napthla first then wipe the Napthla dry (don't wait for it to flash off and completely dry; you want to beat the oil from surfacing) then glue with either of the above glues. Epoxy is its own 2-part glue, but polyurethane's second part is water so there won't be much on that joint; wipe one side with a damp cloth with the poly glue on the other, clamp, and scrape that PITA foam off later. If it isn't obvious, my choice would be to use epoxy over PITA polyurethane glue.

The epoxy is also clear to clear-amber, which should be more hidden with your carving than the tan colored poly glue. Don't clamp the be-jezuz out of the epoxy joint; that's a case where you can starve it.