Grizzly Table Saw Bogs Down

picciuto

I'm new to woodworking and I have an older Grizzly 2HP table saw with a Freud thin kerf blade on it. It bogs down easily even with softwood. Today I was trying to rip a 3/4" think douglas fir at a 45° to make pieces for my French cleat tool organizing system. I get about 12"-14" down the rip and the blade comes to a stop. I'm taking the cut very slow. It's has a new Delta fence on it. I've measured the distance from the front of the blade to the fence and the back of the blade to the fence and it seems pretty dead on accurate (same tooth measurement). Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Was the board pinching the blade, which would be visible by the kerf closing back in on itself? Were you using a riving knife/splitter/blade guard that rides in the kerf to prevent the board from closing back down on the blade? I'm guessing not, since you're using a thin kerf blade.

Also, it's possible that the blade is aligned at 90*, but not so well when tilted.

Did the motor actually stall? Perhaps the belt (if applicable) is slipping. Perhaps the arbor bearings are worn or lost their lube/seal? Maybe the motor bearings?

Just some ideas to consider.

The only time I've had my saw act up was a combination of a dull-ish blade and a board that wanted to close back up, with no splitter/riving knife. In my case, it tripped the breaker. FWIW, I have a couple of Freud Diablo blades now and they cut like butter, but they're still relatively new.

• Like 1

even though its a new blade if you have been cuting alot of wood especialy green wood you can have some build up of resin from the heat on the blad. just toss it in some baking soda and water and steel wool any resin off then a thin coat of wax help it slip through the wood and keep resin from building up