Pointers on "required" shop tools

Derekkest

I am a hobbyist woodworker. I mostly make toys for my daughter and any other child, Intarsia, some boxes, turn vases etc. The usual hobby stuff....But I want to do more and I want to give some furniture a crack.

So I am asking what else do I need? I have the following, just want some pointers as to what other "stand out" tools I am missing?

Jet Lathe

Bandsaw

Drill Press

Table Saw

Chop Saw

Scroll Saw

Router/Router table

Some hand tools for refining what you can accomplish with the power tools. Think of the power tools as your very own apprentice. The hand tools are what will take your work to a higher, more artistic level.

The hand tools I pretty much have set. Although, after watching a few vids, I am thinking a scraper would be an interesting addition to my tools. As far as the dust system, yup yup....Nothing beats a shopvac and a plumbers nightmare of PVC.

Hand tools may be nice. This will be more fun:

Seriously, though, there can be so many suggestions simply because we don't know what you want to do that you can't do now with that already impressive list.

So what have you worked on lately that made you think another tool would make it easier? or what do you want to start doing but don't think you have the right tooling?

For me, it would be easy: I have no lathe so if I said 'turning'.. duh.

I love the straight-pipe headers on that chainsaw, though.

My advice: Don't buy tools because they are on some list. Build projects, and buy tools one at a time when you have a specific project that would really benefit from that specific tool. You want to avoid buying a tool and then having it sit unused. You want to buy a tool, set it up, and immediately use it for the project it was purchased for. That way you "bond" with each tool, and it has a place in your personal skill set and the way you approach projects.