Which Woodworking Magazine do you prefer?

Ripper

Just wondering which woodworking magazines(s) you guys have found most useful. I am new to the woodworking world and am realizing just how big it really is. I know it could depend on the type of work you do but, I would like to find a good general magazine on woodworking. Something that offers good tips/tricks, tool reviews, the latest and greatest in the woodworking world, some nice projects every now and agin, etc… There are probably a few good ones but, I would like to narrow it down to just one for now.

Thanks

Ripper, I took American Woodworker and WOOD mag for a few years. FineWoodworking overlapped that. Shopnotes was also informative at that stage. I think now, I would have been taking Popular Woodworking. Now, I only have FineWoodworking come in and always pick up Woodwork magazine. Woodwork isn't going to be something you want for how-to, but for inspiration and a better understanding of design and the thoughts behind the artists work. With the advent of the immense amount of information available on the Internet, most of the mags are becoming less and less important to learning.

TheWoodwhisperer free site alone has a huge amount of how-to information and when/if you join the Guild, that information is ten fold. You also have The Hand Tool school with Shannon Rogers, Charles Neil's online school and more and more are entering the arena of online education. Dig in and enjoy!

Print media generally is having a rough time for the reasons Vic described, which is why many woodworking magazines also have online content, paid and unpaid. If you're looking for the best of both worlds - online access to magazine content and video content - an online subscription to Fine Woodworking is the way to go in my opinion.