Router jig

wgeils

I think I've got myself in over my head. I am tackling a project that has a couple of steps that I can not figure out.

I need to make a bunch of repeatable angled dado's for a project I am trying to do. These cuts are intended to be a groove that a 1/4" piece of plywood will slide in and out of inside of a display case. I am having a hard time setting up a jig that will allow me to crisply make this cut in a repeatable fashion. That I then can flip to make the mirror cut for the other side of the case. Dose anyone have plans for a jig that I can build to help me do this? I am rather new to working with my router so assume that the only thing I've mastered on it is the on/off switch.

Also this cut must start 1/2" back from one edge of the board so I can not just run these over my dado blase on the table saw. 

The board being routed is 2 1/2" X 16 1/2" and the dados need to be at a 15-20 degree angle.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Wayne

post-5403-0-62305500-1359382491_thumb.gi

Are you familiar with Guide bushings? They mount to the base of your router like a hollow tube centered around the bit. If you used a 3/4" OD bushing and a 1/4" bit the offset would be 1/4" on each side. So you would make a template cut at your angle with a hole in it that is 1/4" wider (in both directions) and 1/4" longer on both ends than the dado. I draw lines on the template to help me get it in the exact position on my part then clamp it down. A plunge router would work best, but you could tip a router in carefully and slowly, then cut the dado. Test on scraps first!

I would cut the angles and a 3/4" spacer strip for the template and glue them together rather than try to cut the hole with a sabre saw. You need smooth sides and exactly placed ends to for the guide bushing to ride against.

• Like 1