Best Finish for Workbench?

17 posts in this topic

Posted · Report post

Hi all, I am new to woodworking. I am currently on project #4, which is a hand built Roubo style workbench (decided I needed a good bench if I am going to get into this hobby). What is a good finish for workbenches? Do I want to go with some sort of poly coat? Or stay with a more natural oil/wax finish?

Thanks,

Quin

Posted · Report post

SSDD:

1. What kind of wood?

2. What finishing products do you already know?

3. What finishing techniques do already know?

Posted · Report post

1) Douglas Fir.

2) I have stained wood once or twice before, but not sure if that counts for much experience.

3) I just kind of painted it on, then wiped it off. Then painted a glossy poly coat over it.

Posted · Report post

Depends on what you are going to do with it. Do you want it to look real good in the show space of your shop to impress people? Or do you want to use it for doing wood working and take a chance of getting dents, saw cuts, holes from a drill and glue and finish spilled on it? :rolleyes:

I made mine from old growth, quarter sawn, MDF because I use it to build things on. :P I applied two coats of polyurethane to fill the pores (I really don't remember if it was gloss, semi gloss or flat) and then waxed the Bejesus out of it with Johnson's paste wax for 3 or 4 coats. It does not stain or hold paint but then again it doesn't hold up too well against drill bits and saw cuts either. :( I scrape the glue off (very easy to do) and re wax it once or twice a year whether it needs it or not. <_< It is flat and strong and doesn't crack or split with weather changes or hard hits from a mallet and chisel. :)

Now if you are looking for a fine piece of furniture to lay a few things on, you will have to get that information from someone else. :D

Rog :):D:P

K COOPER and DaveT like this

Posted · Report post

post-2926-0-60755100-1307335045_thumb.jp