Tools You Would Get if You Would Start Over

nef

I am a beginning woodworker and wanted to start this "I'm sure overly done" post of what tools would you get first if you would have the opportunity to purchase tool 1.

From my research it seems that the tool choice ranges from planes, saws, chisel etc .. I haven't found any say start with marking gauges, wet/dry sand paper, surface plate etc ... for the record I am collecting tools as i find them but I feel I don't know what to 'really get first'.

FYI: I will be taking a freshman woodworking & furniture design (in three weeks) ... this will probably serve me well and I should get a better understanding of what's neccessay and what's luxury .. shed some light and if you can please let me kow the first 5-10 tools you'd buy if you would begin over.

Thanks a bunch and happy posting. :)

As others will say, it depends. It's a very loaded question and the tools to acquire depend on your interest in woodworking. Is it design, an expression of art, mostly furniture, cabinetry? The list of questions to answer goes on. Yes, you'll have better understanding as you progress. Enjoy the process.

Allow me to share a bit of advice with you that will help you to hold onto your money.

Someone once told me to buy tools only as you need them, and buy the best that you can afford of what you need. I did not always follow that advice and I ended up having tools that I did not need and hence, I did not use. When you go to sell them to make room for the tools you need, you will lose money. :rolleyes:

I would find out what tools they require for the course you are taking and start there. :D

hth,

John

If I were starting over, here's what the last 18 years have taught me:

- Learn to sharpen well, before buying any sharpening supplies