Router tables Needed or simply wanted?

Juicegoose

Router table Do you have one and do you use it?  

26 members have voted

1. 1. Do you have and use your router table often enough to justify the cost?

• Don't have one nore need one a simple router is all I need.
    • I've got one and use it much more then a router alone
    • I own one but don't think it would hurt to not have it
    • man would having one make my life easier.
  2. 2. Did you buy or make all or part of your router table/components

• I bought the whole setup lift, fence, table EVERYTHING
    • I made the table but bought the lift and fence
    • I made the fence and table and bought my lift
    • Don't have a table yet so only in my mind have I made everything!

Guys I'm pretty new to doing woodworking on my own and have been in the sponge phase of collecting up some tooling and more importantly knowledge. The most recent wood talk online had a good question brought on by some fellow guild members in the use and need for a table saw. This got me thinking about the use and need for a router table in the shop. I'll be the first one to admit that of all my tools in the shop the router is the one I'm least comfortable with! Something about it's ability to ruin your work very quickly and the limited amount of control that you can place upon it. Call me crazy( I dare you!) but it's just my feelings. Now I realize that for most projects there are alternative tools to do most jobs but in sticking strictly with routers how has having a router table increased your confidence and overall sense of safety in your shop? Was it enough that you felt it justified the cost? Additionally, just like the poll asks, how has having a router table changed the way you've been able to work wood. It seems to me that having a table would open a lot of doors that without one I would simply go a different route in the interest of safety. Chime in guys I'm all ears.